Hello from the other side (of the table)

Hello,

It’s me.

I was wondering if after all these years you’d like to eat;

To go over everything.

They say time’s supposed to heal ya, but I still hate chickpeas.

 

Yep, three years have passed since my last post, and I am closing in on six years living in Israel. Can you believe it? After all of this time I still shirk away from a legume?

To tell you the truth, the problem has only gotten worse. Shawarma, no thanks; shakshuka, I’ll pass.

If you think the Israeli culinary scene was good three years ago, today it is so much better. I’m not just talking about top-of-the-line gourmet food, but street food, and ethnic food- awesome, awesome, awesome.

Now that I have a permanent dinner date (and breakfast date, and lunch date for that matter), and new friends with a love for food that runs as deep as mine, my territory has expanded.

Don’t get me wrong, I still take every tourist that comes my way to La Shuk (seriously, don’t miss it), but now there’s Neve Shaanan, and Florentine, and South-Central Tel Aviv, and East Tel Aviv, and my kitchen.

I’m not completely sure what I’ll share here from this point forward, but I promise that it will be appetizing at the very least.

See y’all at the next table.

Until then,

–Ilana

 

image1

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Sophie says:

    looking forward to sharing some of your meals too!

  2. Kay miller says:

    Love your reviews…aunt Kay

  3. Nora Romanoff says:

    Looking forward to your “TASTY” reviews!

  4. Andrea Delman says:

    Ilana,

    Great to see another posts from the homeland……hope to keep hearing from you (as much as you want to share),

    ~andrea delman

    >

  5. stuart.diamond@gmail.com says:

    Thank goodness you are back!!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  6. Debbie says:

    I am thrilled the Farewell Chickpea is back! It will be wonderful to share your table.

Leave a Reply

